Wrath

ANGERToday, I am angry and I don’t completely know why. I’m not a person who usually feels a lot of anger. Things don’t get to me. I generally see no reason to get angry if someone insults me or tries to hurt me or says something stupid. In fact, the only times when I do get well and truly angry is when someone hurts someone I love. So sitting here and trying to figure out why I’m so angry is really confusing for me.

I don’t completely know how to deal with anger. Prayer seems a little odd to do when I’m so angry. It’s like finding your mom just to drop down on the floor and throw a tantrum. Does God really want to hear me be angry at Him and everything else for no reason at all?

In fact, anger is perhaps the one topic that I don’t have much to say about. I do not know what the Bible says about it. I mean, there’s always “turn the other cheek,” but that doesn’t apply when nothing has been done to me. There’s also “vengeance is mine,” but I’m not seeking revenge on anyone. So what do I do now?

I’m about to try and go pray for the first time this morning. I’ve already written one article already and had breakfast. The TV has been going since I woke up ( a necessary evil for someone whose job is to report on the news). But I’ve avoided prayer so far because… because I’m angry.

Intellectually, I know that nothing should keep me from seeking God in prayer. With my brain, I know that the comfortable words are “Come unto me all who travail and are heavy laden and I will refresh you.” I am certainly heavy laden today. But knowing and following through on that knowledge are different when it comes right down to it.

Today, I have no words of wisdom. Only the request that you pray for me. I am in more need of it than usual.

2 thoughts on “Wrath

  1. I will pray for you and also offer some words of wisdom. If you just let it be and not struggle to get away from anger, it will go away. And if you pray and stay focused in the current moment, you can not have anger which relies on thoughts of the past or predictions of the future. Peace be with you.

    Like

    1. Thank you. It took some doing, but I did try to stay in the moment during my prayers and it did help. I feel much better now and I credit that very much to your prayers. May the peace of God also be with you, friend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

