A Lull [Programming Note]

This is one of my favorite depression representations. It feels very accurate.
This is one of my favorite depression representations. It feels very accurate.

I can’t really do a good blog post today. I’m in one of those depressive lows where things are fine, I’m able to function, but when it comes to having the energy and mental fortitude to put together a good, creative endeavour, I simply can’t. I haven’t posted in a couple days and I was hoping to change that today with a discussion of Alain de Botton’s Religion for Atheists, but I can’t manage it. Instead I will finish the book and conserve my energy. I promise you will get such a post soon, but not today.

The timing of this lull really sucks because I feel like I have a lot of thoughts and ideas whirling around in my head, but I can’t get them out. Some people have likened being in a low to being brain dead, but that’s not always the case. Sometimes you have plenty to say, but no capacity to get it out of you. If you want any evidence that depression is not something you can just get over through a force of will (I’ve heard that countless times from my mother and other well-meaning family members), then look at me. Depression is an illness and just like the flu or the summer head cold, you don’t have a choice about getting it.

So, my friends, I am sorry for the lull in posts. This will have to suffice for now. I hope to be back to fighting fit soon, but until then, there may just be very short, very boring posts like this one. Thank you for listening! I hope you’re all having a good week!

Leave a Reply

