“I Stand Sunday” for Truth and the LGBT Community

I Stand Sunday Not A Cause for Truth

Most people who read this blog know that I work as a political commentator. I look at the news and then I write about what I think, what the facts are, what could be and what should be. Occasionally, politics and my sexual orientation intersect with religion. Yesterday, exactly that happened.

For those of who who are lucky enough not to have paid attention to the news, Houston has been having a brouhaha over its new anti-discrimination act. There have been reports of religious persecution, unlawful subpoenas and other such worrying things. They are all overblown, but they have managed to galvanize religious people into unneeded action. On Sunday, there was an event in Houston called “I Stand Sunday.” It used the hashtag #IStandSunday on Twitter to spread hatred and bigotry. I knew when I saw the tweets and how people who believe in equality were responding that I had to write about this thing.

And that’s exactly what I did.

“I Stand Sunday” Not A Cause for Truth

The case in Houston, Texas of pastors’ sermons being subpoenaed for a court case has spurred a religious movement called “I Stand Sunday” meant to galvanize and fundraise for the cause of religious liberty. Most of the November 2 event hosted by the Family Research Council is a recounting of the violations of religious liberty in the United States, but there is just one problem: religious liberty is not being violated. A lot of misinformation about the Houston subpoenas has been circulated by right-wing media like FOX News creating an atmosphere where falsehood is used as propaganda. This propaganda has no other aim except to attack the LGBT community and prevent equality from becoming the law of the land. “I Stand Sunday” and other movements like it are not causes for furthering the truth. Instead they are discriminatory rallies masquerading as honesty.

For the rest of the article, click the title to head on over to The Public Slate and read. I think I said most everything I needed to say about the politics of the event. But here I would just add one thing: There is no excuse for hate. Religion does not give anyone cause to hurt others. Religious people don’t need to approve of the LGBT community. They merely need to allow them the freedom to live how they choose in the secular country which houses them.

Leave a Reply

