Week 2: I’m Starting to Love This

I liked what I was doing before. Learning the fundamentals, feeling kickass after a workout, sweating and bumping fists with people who were doing the same thing I was. Now at the end of week 2 with Crossfit, I’m starting to really fall in love.

It’s like we met, we talked, we went on a few dates and now we’re starting to have those first awkward, heavy make-out sessions. Crossfit and I are starting to get it on.

You may be thinking, “Dude, did we really need the image of you making out with… someone?” (For those of you who like that sort of thing, imagine any of your favorite female celebrities puckering up and feel free to leave me out of it. Personally, I imagine her.) And my answer to you is, “No, probably not.” But that’s how good it feels, man! It feels like those first times you get close to someone you’re into. It’s exhilarating!

I did not feel that way last week. Last week I was slow, sluggish and unmotivated. This week, it feels a lot different. It’s a little easier to go to the gym now. I’m used to being slower than others, I’m used to learning and feeling my way around, and I’m getting used to other people being around. This is all part of the process of getting comfortable and feeling at home at RMA.

And I have to say, probably the biggest thing that has me so excited this week is the people. Everyone at Revolute is really fun to be around. They are positive people, enthusiastic and supportive people. I feel better about everything after I’ve spent time with them.

Today while doing burpee box jumps (buck furpees, man), the top of the box said “Effort = Respect.” It isn’t about how much you’re doing or how you’re doing. It’s about the fact that you’re trying your hardest. Am I the slowest person in the gym? You bet I am! But I’m working as hard as everyone else is. And I’ll get better. I’ll be able to do more. But for me, personally, knowing that my effort, as bad as it looks, is what earns me respect really means something. It gives me more respect for myself.

If I never get abs; if I never do a real pull up; if I never do a handstand walk, it doesn’t matter. The self-respect that Crossfit and RMA is giving me is better than all of that.

Leave a Reply

